South Dakota

Latest articles: Cyprus - Belize - Federated States of Micronesia - Jamaica - Commonwealth of Dominica - Notable attractions in London - Bolivia - Tasmania - Sydney - South Australia - Norfolk Island - Kakadu National Park - Great Barrier Reef - Western Australia - Northern Territory

this site
U.S.A. : Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, New Jersey, North Dakota, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington State, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington D.C.

South Dakota

South Dakota is a State covering 199 552 km2 (77 047 sq miles) of the Great Plains.

Mount Rushmore, South Dakota
South Dakota

The Black Hills rise to 2207 m (7242 ft) in the southwest and the state is bisected by the Missouri river.

South Dakota is an agricultural region, and cattle, wheat, maize and pigs are the mainstays. Gold is mined in the Black Hills and manufacturing is mainly concerned with meat processing, industrial machinery, timber and wood products.

Pierre is the state capital of South Dakota, on the Missouri river in the centre of the state. It stands opposite the fur trading post of Fort Pierre founded in 1817.

© www.travel-university.org 2012 - All materials contained in this website are protected by c o p y r i g h t laws, and may not be reproduced, republished, distributed, transmitted, displayed, broadcast or otherwise exploited in any manner without the express prior written permission of www.travel-university.org. You may link from your website to www.travel-university.org homepage or one of its interior pages.
Contact us